Best of
ChatGPT visibility tool: the best tools in 2026
By Maya Ellison, content lead · Updated 3 October 2026
In short
MentionChecker is the best ChatGPT visibility tool, at 94 of 100 against fifteen others. It asks ChatGPT and the five other AI engines on every pack, from $9 bought once, in the country you pick, and shows every answer. Your first check is free.
Best ChatGPT visibility tool, scored out of 100
MentionChecker scores 94 of 100 as a ChatGPT visibility tool, and the next is AskWatch, at 70. ChatGPT is OpenAI's AI engine, which answers typed questions at chatgpt.com and in the ChatGPT app, read on 3 October 2026 on OpenAI's ChatGPT page. Every other tool is scored at the cheapest tier on its own pricing page that carries a price. Tools on the same score are ordered by name.
| Tool | Score | ChatGPT on the first paid step (20) | What it costs to start (25) | A free look (20) | AI engines (20) | What you commit to (15) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MentionChecker | 94 / 100 | On every pack, 20 of 20 | No monthly fee, 25 of 25 | Your first check, no card, 14 of 20 | All six on every pack, 20 of 20 | Credits, bought once, 15 of 15 |
| AskWatch | 70 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $100 on Monitor, 10 of 25 | A check on its pricing page, 14 of 20 | Six or more, 20 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Promptwatch | 67 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $95 on Essential, 15 of 25 | Explore, a free tier, 14 of 20 | 4, 12 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Rankscale | 66 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | €20 on Essentials, 20 of 25 | A 7-day Pro trial with a card, 0 of 20 | Six or more, 20 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| AthenaHQ | 65 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $295 on Starter, 5 of 25 | Essential, a free tier, 14 of 20 | Six or more, 20 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Otterly | 64 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $29 on Lite, 20 of 25 | A 7-day trial, no card, 6 of 20 | 4, 12 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| HubSpot AEO | 61 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $50 on HubSpot AEO on its own, 15 of 25 | The AI Search Grader, once, 14 of 20 | 3, 6 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Profound | 61 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $99 on Agency Growth, 15 of 25 | The Trial, 10 questions run once, 14 of 20 | 3, 6 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Writesonic | 53 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $99 on Starter, 15 of 25 | A 7-day trial, no card, 6 of 20 | 3, 6 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Gauge | 51 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $599 on Growth, 2 of 25 | A one-week trial on Growth, 3 of 20 | Six or more, 20 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | 45 / 100 | One AI engine a day for 5 questions, 8 of 20 | £99 on Lite, 15 of 25 | The AI Visibility Checker, a preview, 14 of 20 | 1, 2 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Searchable | 45 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $125 on Pro, 10 of 25 | A 14-day trial, 3 of 20 | 3, 6 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Scrunch AI | 43 / 100 | Included, 20 of 20 | $250 on Core, 5 of 25 | A 7-day trial with a card, 0 of 20 | 4, 12 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Peec AI | 38 / 100 | One of three picks from six, 8 of 20 | €85 on Starter, 15 of 25 | A trial, its length not stated, 3 of 20 | 3, 6 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Superlines | 38 / 100 | One of three picks from ten or more, 8 of 20 | €79 on Starter, 15 of 25 | A 7-day trial, 3 of 20 | 3, 6 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
| Semrush | 31 / 100 | One AI engine per campaign, 8 of 20 | $99 on AI Visibility Toolkit, 15 of 25 | None, 0 of 20 | 1, 2 of 20 | A monthly plan, 6 of 15 |
Prices as of 21 to 30 September 2026, each dated in its entry below, in the currency the tool's own page prints.
How to choose a ChatGPT visibility tool
Choose a ChatGPT visibility tool on five things: whether ChatGPT is on the first paid step, what it costs to start, whether you get a free look before paying, how many AI engines it asks, and what you commit to. MentionChecker scores full marks on four of the five.
| Criterion | Weight | How the points are given |
|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT on the first paid step | 20 | Part of the first paid step, 20. One of a few AI engines a tier lets you pick, 8 |
| What it costs to start | 25 | No monthly fee, 25. Under 50 a month, 20. 50 to 99 a month, 15. 100 to 249 a month, 10. 250 to 499 a month, 5. 500 or more a month, 2 |
| A free look before paying | 20 | A free check of your own questions on every AI engine it lists, 20. Something free with no end date, 14. A trial that asks for no card, 6. Any other trial, 3. A trial that takes a card, or nothing free, 0 |
| AI engines asked, ChatGPT included | 20 | Six or more, 20. Four or five, 12. Three, 6. One or two, 2 |
| What you commit to | 15 | Credits bought once, 15. A monthly plan, 6. Priced only after a call, 0 |
Which AI visibility tools include ChatGPT on the first paid step?
MentionChecker puts ChatGPT on every pack beside the five other AI engines, and eleven of the fifteen other ChatGPT visibility tools here include it on their first paid step. On the other four, ChatGPT takes one of the few slots a tier allows, so asking it leaves another AI engine out: Peec AI, Semrush, Ahrefs Brand Radar and Superlines. Peec AI's Starter tier picks three of six, read on 21 September 2026 on Peec AI's pricing page, Ahrefs Lite asks one AI engine a day, read on 29 September 2026 on Ahrefs' plans and pricing page, Superlines' packages pick three, read on 29 September 2026 on Superlines' pricing page, and a Semrush campaign asks one AI engine, read on 28 September 2026 on Semrush's pricing page.

On MentionChecker you tick the AI engines for each check, and each one costs a credit per question. For example, 25 questions on ChatGPT alone use 25 credits, and the same questions on all six AI engines use 150.
Which ChatGPT visibility tool shows the sources ChatGPT cites?
MentionChecker does: the report keeps every answer ChatGPT gave, with the websites it cited as sources and the brands mentioned in it. A mention is your brand's name inside an AI engine's answer, and a citation is a website the answer gives as its source. ChatGPT gives links to the websites it searched when it answers with search, read on 3 October 2026 on OpenAI's ChatGPT search page.

A repeat saves each run, so the answer to one question can be read before and after a change.
What does a ChatGPT visibility tool measure: mentions, share of voice and rank?
To monitor brand mentions in ChatGPT, MentionChecker measures three numbers per check, mentioned, share of voice and average rank, and lists every competitor ChatGPT mentioned and every website it cited. Mentioned is the share of answers with your brand in them, share of voice is your mentions as a share of every mention, and average rank is your place in the answers that listed names in order.
Each run is saved in History with those numbers and their movement against the run before, so a change in what ChatGPT says shows up as a change in the numbers.
How does a ChatGPT visibility tool compare you with competitors?
MentionChecker lists every brand ChatGPT mentioned beside yours, question by question, with each one's share of voice and average rank, so you can see which competitor takes the answers you are missing. The standings in the report rank your brand and those competitors on the same numbers.
Each competitor's row opens onto the answers that mention it and the websites those answers cited, so the gap with one rival can be read question by question.
What to do when ChatGPT doesn't mention your brand
Open the questions where a competitor is mentioned and you are not, read the websites ChatGPT cited in those answers, and set a repeat to see whether the next run moves. The report shows both in one place, the answer as it was given and the sources under it.
A repeat runs the same questions again and History puts the new numbers beside the last run, so a change on your site or on a cited website shows up as a change in mentioned, share of voice and average rank.
How often should you track your brand in ChatGPT?
As often as you act on the answers: a MentionChecker repeat tracks your brand in ChatGPT daily, weekly or monthly, for one, three, six or twelve months, and each run is paid from your balance as it happens.

Otterly runs its list once a day, read on 28 September 2026 on Otterly's help centre on monitoring. HubSpot AEO runs its tracker daily, read on 28 September 2026 on HubSpot's AEO product page. Gauge asks every day, read on 30 September 2026 on Gauge's pricing page. Each of the three bills a monthly fee for that schedule, and a daily MentionChecker repeat runs the same way from credits.
Which country does a ChatGPT visibility tool ask from?
From the country you pick: every MentionChecker check asks from one of 13 countries, chosen before it runs. A second country is a second check from the same balance, with no fee for the country itself.

Peec AI's Starter tier carries one country, read on 21 September 2026 on Peec AI's pricing page. Scrunch AI carries one country on its Core tier, read on 28 September 2026 on Scrunch's pricing page. Gauge's Growth plan is a single location, read on 30 September 2026 on Gauge's pricing page. Semrush charges 99 dollars a month for another domain or location, read on 28 September 2026 on Semrush's pricing page.
How much does ChatGPT brand tracking cost?
From $9 bought once on MentionChecker. The fifteen other tools here run from 20 euros a month to 599 dollars a month, owed again every month. One question asked of ChatGPT is one credit, every pack can ask all six AI engines, and the pricing page lists them all.
| Credits | What that runs, for example | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 50 credits | 50 questions on ChatGPT alone, or eight on all six AI engines, once | $9 |
| 100 credits | 25 questions on four AI engines, once | $17 |
| 250 credits | 25 questions on five AI engines, twice, with what moved between them | $25 |
| 1,000 credits | 25 questions on four AI engines, ten times | $45 |
Rankscale's 20 euros, read on 29 September 2026 on Rankscale's pricing page. Gauge's 599 dollars, read on 30 September 2026 on Gauge's pricing page.
ChatGPT visibility tools compared: prices, AI engines and free offers
MentionChecker
94 of 100. Credits bought once from $9, every answer kept with its sources, any of 13 countries per check, and a repeat that runs daily, weekly or monthly.
AskWatch
70 of 100. AskWatch is an AI visibility monitor sold on monthly plans. Monitor starts at 100 dollars a month, read on 29 September 2026 on AskWatch's pricing page. Its free offer is a check on its pricing page. Every plan asks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Perplexity, Copilot and Gemini, and answers over the allowance are billed on top.
Promptwatch
67 of 100. Promptwatch is an AI search tracking subscription. Essential, the entry plan, is 95 dollars a month, read on 29 September 2026 on Promptwatch's pricing page. Its free offer is Explore, a free tier. Each plan card says it tracks four AI engines, and its model list ticks ChatGPT on all three.
Rankscale
66 of 100. Rankscale is an AI visibility tracker sold on monthly tiers paid in credits. Essentials costs 20 euros a month, read on 29 September 2026 on Rankscale's pricing page. Its free offer is a 7-day Pro trial with a card. ChatGPT is among the AI engines its credits are spent on, and its entry tier counts up to 480 AI answers a month.
AthenaHQ
65 of 100. AthenaHQ is an AI visibility platform sold on monthly tiers paid in credits. Starter starts at 295 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on AthenaHQ's plans page. Its free offer is Essential, a free tier. Its Starter tier covers all eleven AI engines it lists, ChatGPT among them.
Otterly
64 of 100. Otterly is an AI search monitoring tool sold by the month. Lite, the entry plan, is 29 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on Otterly's pricing page. Its free offer is a 7-day trial, no card. Its tiers ask ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot once a day, by Otterly's help centre on monitoring, and Gemini and Google AI Mode are paid add-ons.
HubSpot AEO
61 of 100. HubSpot AEO is an AI search tracker inside the HubSpot marketing suite. HubSpot AEO on its own costs 50 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on HubSpot's marketing pricing page. Its free offer is the AI Search Grader, once. Its tracker asks ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity, daily, on every tier.
Profound
61 of 100. Profound is an AI visibility platform whose main plans are priced after a sales call. Agency Growth starts at 99 dollars a month, read on 21 September 2026 on Profound's pricing page. Its free offer is the Trial, 10 questions run once. Its Agency Growth tier asks ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews 25 questions a day for a prospect, for seven days.
Writesonic
53 of 100. Writesonic is a content platform with AI visibility plans sold by the month. Starter, the entry plan, is 99 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on Writesonic's pricing page. Its free offer is a 7-day trial, no card. Its brand plans include ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, in one market.
Gauge
51 of 100. Gauge is an AI visibility tracker with one priced monthly plan. Growth costs 599 dollars a month, read on 30 September 2026 on Gauge's pricing page. Its free offer is a one-week trial on Growth. Growth asks six AI engines every day, ChatGPT among them, in a single location.
Ahrefs Brand Radar
45 of 100. Ahrefs Brand Radar is the AI tracking part of the Ahrefs SEO suite. Lite starts at 99 pounds a month, read on 29 September 2026 on Ahrefs' plans and pricing page. Its free offer is the AI Visibility Checker, a preview. Its 150 checks a month cover 5 questions on one AI engine a day, picked from the ones it lists, ChatGPT among them.
Searchable
45 of 100. Searchable is an AI search tracking tool sold on monthly tiers. Pro, the entry plan, is 125 dollars a month, read on 29 September 2026 on Searchable's pricing page. Its free offer is a 14-day trial. Its Pro tier includes ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and Perplexity, and the other AI engines it lists are paid add-ons.
Scrunch AI
43 of 100. Scrunch AI is an AI search monitoring platform sold by the month. Core costs 250 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on Scrunch's pricing page. Its free offer is a 7-day trial with a card. Core asks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Microsoft Copilot, in one country.
Peec AI
38 of 100. Peec AI is an AI search analytics dashboard sold by the month. Starter starts at 85 euros a month, read on 21 September 2026 on Peec AI's pricing page. Its free offer is a trial, its length not stated. Its Starter tier asks three AI engines picked from the six it lists, ChatGPT among them, in one country.
Superlines
38 of 100. Superlines is an AI search tracking platform sold in monthly packages. Starter, the entry plan, is 79 euros a month, read on 29 September 2026 on Superlines' pricing page. Its free offer is a 7-day trial. Every package you can buy picks three AI engines from the ten or more it lists.
Semrush
31 of 100. Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit is a monthly add-on to the Semrush SEO suite, priced per domain. The toolkit costs 99 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on Semrush's pricing page. It has no free offer. One tracking campaign asks one AI engine, picked from ChatGPT, Google AI Mode and Gemini.
Each name opens a page of its own with that tool's whole plan list. The list of the best AI visibility tools scores the same tools for every kind of brand.
Why most ChatGPT visibility tools are not ranked here
Sixteen ChatGPT visibility tools are scored here, and the directory lists 257. A tool is scored when this site has a comparison page for it holding the whole plan list read off its own pricing page between 21 and 30 September 2026, and MentionChecker is scored on its own pricing page.
The other 241 are in the directory of AI visibility tools with what each one does, 55 of them with an entry price and the day it was read.
Which ChatGPT visibility tool to pick
MentionChecker, for one check of ChatGPT, a monthly check or a daily one. Run the free check first, then buy the pack that covers the checks you plan.
MentionChecker is a pay-as-you-go AI visibility checker. It asks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot the questions people ask about what you do, and tells you whether your brand is mentioned in the answers.

The guide to how to check ChatGPT visibility walks through one check end to end, and AI visibility tracking covers repeats in full.
Questions people ask about ChatGPT visibility tools
What is the best ChatGPT visibility tool?
MentionChecker, at 94 of 100 in this ranking of sixteen tools, with AskWatch next at 70. It puts ChatGPT on every pack beside five more AI engines, sells credits once from $9 with no monthly plan, and shows every answer ChatGPT gave.
Is there a free ChatGPT visibility checker?
Yes. Your first MentionChecker check is free with no card and no end date: 5 questions on ChatGPT and Gemini, with every answer, the brands mentioned and the websites cited. The list of the best free AI visibility tools ranks MentionChecker first on what the free part shows.
How do I track my brand in ChatGPT?
Run a MentionChecker check: enter your website, keep ChatGPT ticked with any other AI engines, pick a country and read the report. It says whether your brand is mentioned in each answer, which competitors are, and which websites were cited.
Why does ChatGPT give a different answer each time?
Asking ChatGPT the same question again can give a different answer, so one reading is one sample. A MentionChecker repeat asks the same questions again on the schedule you set and keeps every run in History, so mentioned, share of voice and average rank show how far the answers move from one run to the next.
Can I see what ChatGPT says about my brand?
Yes. A MentionChecker report keeps ChatGPT's answer to every question as it was given, marks your brand and every competitor mentioned in it, and lists the websites it cited as sources. The same report holds the other AI engines you picked, so the answers sit side by side.
What is a ChatGPT rank tracker?
A ChatGPT rank tracker asks ChatGPT the questions people ask about what you do and records where your brand appears in each answer. A MentionChecker check gives your average rank, your place in the answers that listed names in order, beside mentioned and share of voice.
Which tool monitors brand mentions in ChatGPT?
MentionChecker monitors brand mentions in ChatGPT: each check asks ChatGPT the questions people ask about what you do, marks every brand mentioned in each answer and lists the websites cited. It also shows the share of answers that mention your brand and which competitors are mentioned instead.
Does a ChatGPT visibility tool track Gemini and Perplexity too?
MentionChecker does: every pack can ask ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, and a check asks whichever of them you tick, one credit per question on each. Eight of the fifteen other tools in this ranking ask three AI engines or fewer on their cheapest paid tier, and on four of them, Peec AI, Semrush, Ahrefs Brand Radar and Superlines, ChatGPT takes one of those few places.
What is ChatGPT prompt tracking?
ChatGPT prompt tracking puts the same questions to ChatGPT on a schedule and reads each answer for your brand. A MentionChecker repeat does it daily, weekly or monthly, from credits bought once, and keeps every answer, so you can see which question moved.
Do I need a subscription to track ChatGPT mentions?
No. MentionChecker sells credit packs paid for once, from $9, that last 12 months and never renew. All fifteen other tools in this ranking sell their first paid step as a monthly plan, and the list of AI visibility tools without a subscription scores them on what each one ties you to.
Every name in this ranking is a trademark of its owner, ChatGPT included. MentionChecker is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them, and no tool here pays for its place.