Best of

AI visibility tool without subscription: 2026 ranking

By Maya Ellison, content lead · Updated 3 October 2026

In short

MentionChecker is the best AI visibility tool without a subscription, at 95 of 100 against fifteen others, each of them a monthly plan. You buy credits once, from $9, they last 12 months, and a month with no check costs nothing. Your first check is free.

MentionCheckerKnow where you stand in AI search.
Run a free checkYour first check is free, no card. Then from $9, no subscription.

Best AI visibility tool without subscription, scored out of 100

MentionChecker scores 95 of 100, and the next is Ahrefs Brand Radar, the AI tracking part of the Ahrefs SEO suite, at 44. Every other tool is scored at the cheapest tier on its own pricing page that carries a price. Tools on the same score are ordered by name.

ToolScoreWhat you commit to (30)A month with no check (20)How long a payment lasts (20)AI engines (15)A free first look (15)
MentionChecker95 / 100Credits, bought once, 30 of 30Nothing, 20 of 2012 months, 20 of 20Every AI engine it lists, on every pack, 15 of 15Your first check, no card, 10 of 15
Ahrefs Brand Radar44 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30£99 on Lite, 5 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 20Six or more, 15 of 15The AI Visibility Checker, a preview, free with no end date, 10 of 15
AskWatch41 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$100 on Monitor, 2 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 20Six or more, 15 of 15A check on its pricing page, free with no end date, 10 of 15
AthenaHQ39 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$295 on Starter, 0 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 20Six or more, 15 of 15Essential, a free tier, free with no end date, 10 of 15
Promptwatch38 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$95 on Essential, 5 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 204, 9 of 15Explore, a free tier, free with no end date, 10 of 15
Otterly37 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$29 on Lite, 8 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 204, 9 of 15A 7-day trial, no card, 6 of 15
Rankscale37 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30€20 on Essentials, 8 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 20Six or more, 15 of 15A 7-day Pro trial with a card, 0 of 15
HubSpot AEO34 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$50 on HubSpot AEO on its own, 5 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 203, 5 of 15The AI Search Grader, once, free with no end date, 10 of 15
Profound34 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$99 on Agency Growth, 5 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 203, 5 of 15The Trial, 10 questions run once, free with no end date, 10 of 15
Gauge32 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$599 on Growth, 0 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 20Six or more, 15 of 15A one-week trial on Growth, 3 of 15
Writesonic30 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$99 on Starter, 5 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 203, 5 of 15A 7-day trial, no card, 6 of 15
Peec AI27 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30€85 on Starter, 5 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 203, 5 of 15A trial, its length not stated, 3 of 15
Superlines27 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30€79 on Starter, 5 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 203, 5 of 15A 7-day trial, 3 of 15
Searchable24 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$125 on Pro, 2 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 203, 5 of 15A 14-day trial, 3 of 15
Scrunch AI23 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$250 on Core, 0 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 204, 9 of 15A 7-day trial with a card, 0 of 15
Semrush21 / 100A monthly plan, 10 of 30$99 on AI Visibility Toolkit, 5 of 20One month per fee, 4 of 201, 2 of 15None, 0 of 15

Prices as of 21 to 30 September 2026, each dated in its entry below, in the currency the tool's own page prints.

How to choose an AI visibility tool without a subscription

Five criteria make 100 points, and 70 of them measure what you are tied to once you pay. What you commit to carries the most weight, then what a month with no check costs, then how long a payment lasts. The AI engines a first payment buys and what you can see before paying anything make up the rest.

CriterionWeightHow the points are given
What you commit to30Credits bought once, with nothing that renews, 30. A monthly plan, 10. Priced only after a call, 0
Owed in a month with no check20Nothing, 20. Under 50, 8. 50 to 99, 5. 100 to 249, 2. 250 or more, 0
How long what you pay for lasts20Twelve months or more, spent only on the checks you run, 20. An allowance that rolls over to the next month, 10. One month of the plan for each fee, 4
AI engines on the first paid step15Six or more, 15. Four or five, 9. Three, 5. One or two, 2
A free first look15A free check on all six AI engines, with no end date, 15. Something free with no end date, on fewer AI engines, 10. A trial that asks for no card, 6. Any other trial, 3. A trial that takes a card, or nothing free, 0

Is there an AI visibility tool without a subscription?

Yes, MentionChecker: you commit to nothing beyond the pack you buy, and nothing renews on a card. Every other tool here sells its cheapest paid tier as a monthly plan, seven of them print a lower price for annual billing, read on 21 to 30 September 2026 on each maker's pricing page, and twelve keep a tier whose price needs a call.

ToolA lower price billed annuallyA tier priced only after a call
MentionCheckerNo annual plan to signNone, every pack priced
Ahrefs Brand RadarNone listedNone
AskWatchNone listedYes
AthenaHQ245 dollars a monthYes
PromptwatchNone listedYes
Otterly25 dollars a monthYes
Rankscale17 euros a monthNone
HubSpot AEONone in dollarsNone
ProfoundNone listedYes
GaugeNone listedYes
Writesonic79 dollars a monthYes
Peec AI70 euros a monthYes
Superlines69 euros a monthYes
Searchable100 dollars a monthYes
Scrunch AINone listedYes
SemrushNone listedYes

Annual prices as of 21 to 30 September 2026, each from the pricing page linked in its entry below. There is nothing to cancel on MentionChecker: a pack never renews, where a monthly plan bills until it is cancelled.

Monthly plan or annual contract: what AI visibility tools ask for

An annual plan lowers the month price and ties you to twelve months, and MentionChecker has no annual plan to sign: a year of monthly checks is one $59 pack with no monthly fee. That pack is 3,000 credits.

Rankscale's Essentials is 20 euros a month, or 17 billed annually. Otterly's Lite is 29 dollars a month, or 25 billed annually.

How long do AI visibility credits last?

MentionChecker credits last 12 months from the day the pack is bought, and the 10 credits for your free first check do not expire. Every pack adds to one balance, spent on any brand in the account, one question on one AI engine at a time.

An AI visibility tool without subscription: the credit balance, the packs bought once and the ledger of what each check spent
One balance, packs bought once, and what each check spent from it.

On a monthly plan the fee buys one month: Rankscale's Essentials tier carries no credit rollover, read on 29 September 2026 on Rankscale's pricing page, and AskWatch's allowance does not carry over, read on 29 September 2026 on AskWatch's pricing page.

Do AI visibility tools charge when you don't use them?

On MentionChecker a quiet month costs nothing, and on every other tool here it costs the monthly fee. Five of the fifteen charge 100 or more a month in the currency their page prints.

Unspent credits wait in the balance for the next check, so a brand that checks in March and again in June pays for two checks and nothing for April and May.

Can an AI visibility tool without a subscription track every month?

Yes: a MentionChecker repeat runs the same check daily, weekly or monthly, for one, three, six or twelve months, and each run is paid from your balance as it happens. When the balance is short, the repeat pauses until credits are bought.

An AI visibility report as it opens: the repeat strip with the next run's cost from the balance, then mentioned, share of voice and average rank
The strip says when the next run is due and what it costs from the balance.

Each run is saved in History with three numbers and their movement against the run before: mentioned, the share of answers with your brand in them, share of voice, your mentions as a share of every mention, and average rank, your place in the answers that listed names in order. A mention is your brand's name inside an AI engine's answer, and a citation is a website the answer gives as its source.

History for a repeat paid from credits: the three numbers with their movement, and every check in the series
Every run in the series, each paid from the balance on the day it ran.

The AI visibility tracking page covers repeats in full, and the pay as you go AI visibility tracker page says how the balance works.

How much does an AI visibility tool without a subscription cost?

A MentionChecker pack is a one-time payment from $9, and a check costs what it asks for: one question on one AI engine is one credit. Every pack can ask all six AI engines, and the pricing page lists them all.

CreditsWhat that runs, for examplePrice
50 creditseight questions on all six AI engines, once$9
100 credits25 questions on four AI engines, once$17
250 credits25 questions on five AI engines, twice, with what moved between them$25
1,000 credits25 questions on four AI engines, ten times$45
3,000 credits25 questions on four AI engines, every month for a year, with credits to spare$59

Among the fifteen others, entry tiers run from 20 euros a month on Rankscale, read on 29 September 2026 on Rankscale's pricing page, to 599 dollars a month on Gauge, an AI visibility tracker with one priced monthly plan, read on 30 September 2026 on Gauge's pricing page, each owed again the next month.

AI visibility tools compared: which ones are subscriptions

MentionChecker

95 of 100. The free check asks ChatGPT and Gemini, and every pack asks all six AI engines.

Ahrefs Brand Radar

44 of 100. Scored at 99 pounds a month on Lite, the cheapest Ahrefs plan carrying Custom Prompts, read on 29 September 2026 on Ahrefs' plans and pricing page. Its AI Visibility Index is sold separately at 199 dollars a month for one AI engine and 699 dollars for all of them, read on 29 September 2026 on Ahrefs' Brand Radar page. Ahrefs Brand Radar asks six or more AI engines on Lite. Its free offer is the AI Visibility Checker, a preview, free with no end date.

AskWatch

41 of 100. AskWatch is an AI visibility monitor sold on monthly plans. Scored at 100 dollars a month on Monitor, read on 29 September 2026 on AskWatch's pricing page. AskWatch puts all six AI engines on every plan and bills answers over the allowance on top of the fee. AskWatch asks six or more AI engines on Monitor. Its free offer is a check on its pricing page, free with no end date. AskWatch prices a higher tier only after a call.

AthenaHQ

39 of 100. AthenaHQ is an AI visibility platform sold on monthly tiers. Scored at 295 dollars a month on Starter, read on 28 September 2026 on AthenaHQ's plans page. That paid tier buys a monthly allowance of AI responses, one credit to one response, and the tier above it has no price on the page. AthenaHQ asks six or more AI engines on Starter. Its free offer is Essential, a free tier, free with no end date. Billed annually, AthenaHQ is 245 dollars a month. AthenaHQ prices a higher tier only after a call.

Promptwatch

38 of 100. Promptwatch is an AI search tracking subscription with plans sized around content agents. Scored at 95 dollars a month on Essential, read on 29 September 2026 on Promptwatch's pricing page. Its Essential tier allows 6,000 AI responses a month, and its Business tier at 579 dollars a month is bought through a call. Promptwatch asks four AI engines on Essential. Its free offer is Explore, a free tier, free with no end date. Promptwatch prices a higher tier only after a call.

Otterly

37 of 100. Otterly is an AI search monitoring tool with monthly and annual billing. Scored at 29 dollars a month on Lite, read on 28 September 2026 on Otterly's pricing page. Otterly's tiers ask ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, and Gemini and Google AI Mode are paid add-ons on every tier, 9 dollars a month each on the cheapest. Otterly asks four AI engines on Lite. Its free offer is a 7-day trial, no card. Billed annually, Otterly is 25 dollars a month. Otterly prices a higher tier only after a call.

Rankscale

37 of 100. Rankscale is an AI visibility tracker sold on monthly tiers paid in credits. Scored at 20 euros a month on Essentials, read on 29 September 2026 on Rankscale's pricing page. Its entry tier counts up to 480 AI answers a month, its Pro tier is 99 euros a month and its Enterprise tier 780 euros. Rankscale asks six or more AI engines on Essentials. Its free offer is a 7-day Pro trial with a card. Billed annually, Rankscale is 17 euros a month.

HubSpot AEO

34 of 100. HubSpot AEO is an AI search tracker inside the HubSpot marketing suite, sold by the month. Scored at 50 dollars a month on HubSpot AEO on its own, read on 28 September 2026 on HubSpot's marketing pricing page. Its paid tracker covers 25 questions on three AI engines daily, and inside Marketing Hub the Professional tier carries 25 tracked questions and Enterprise 50, read on 28 September 2026 on HubSpot's AEO product page. HubSpot AEO asks three AI engines on HubSpot AEO on its own. Its free offer is the AI Search Grader, once, free with no end date.

Profound

34 of 100. Profound is an AI visibility platform sold by subscription. Scored at 99 dollars a month on Agency Growth, read on 21 September 2026 on Profound's pricing page. Profound's brand plan has no published price, only a free run of 10 questions on ChatGPT and a demo, so the entry tier of its agency track is the one scored, and it asks ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews. Profound asks three AI engines on Agency Growth. Its free offer is the Trial, 10 questions run once, free with no end date. Profound prices a higher tier only after a call.

Gauge

32 of 100. Scored at 599 dollars a month on Growth, read on 30 September 2026 on Gauge's pricing page. Gauge carries one plan with a price on it, and the tier above is quoted after a demo. Gauge asks six or more AI engines on Growth. Its free offer is a one-week trial on Growth. Gauge prices a higher tier only after a call.

Writesonic

30 of 100. Writesonic is a content platform with AI visibility plans sold by the month. Scored at 99 dollars a month on Starter, read on 28 September 2026 on Writesonic's pricing page. Its brand plans carry written articles and site audits as well, 15 and 10 a month on the entry one. Writesonic asks three AI engines on Starter. Its free offer is a 7-day trial, no card. Billed annually, Writesonic is 79 dollars a month. Writesonic prices a higher tier only after a call.

Peec AI

27 of 100. Peec AI is an AI search analytics tool billed monthly or annually. Scored at 85 euros a month on Starter, read on 21 September 2026 on Peec AI's pricing page. Above it, its Pro tier is 205 euros a month for 150 questions, and its Enterprise tier is quoted and billed annually. Peec AI asks three AI engines on Starter. Its free offer is a trial, its length not stated. Billed annually, Peec AI is 70 euros a month. Peec AI prices a higher tier only after a call.

Superlines

27 of 100. Superlines is an AI search tracking platform sold in monthly packages. Scored at 79 euros a month on Starter, read on 29 September 2026 on Superlines' pricing page. Every Superlines package picks three AI engines of the ten it lists, and the entry one keeps one month of history. Superlines asks three AI engines on Starter. Its free offer is a 7-day trial. Billed annually, Superlines is 69 euros a month. Superlines prices a higher tier only after a call.

Searchable

24 of 100. Searchable is an AI search tracking tool sold on monthly tiers. Scored at 125 dollars a month on Pro, read on 29 September 2026 on Searchable's pricing page. Its Pro tier tracks 100 questions per AI engine and keeps 12 months of data, where the tiers above keep all of it. Searchable asks three AI engines on Pro. Its free offer is a 14-day trial. Billed annually, Searchable is 100 dollars a month. Searchable prices a higher tier only after a call.

Scrunch AI

23 of 100. Scrunch AI is an AI search monitoring platform sold by the month. Scored at 250 dollars a month on Core, read on 28 September 2026 on Scrunch's pricing page. Its agency tier is 500 dollars a month for 250 questions and three brand workspaces, and its Enterprise tier has no price on the page. Scrunch AI asks four AI engines on Core. Its free offer is a 7-day trial with a card. Scrunch AI prices a higher tier only after a call.

Semrush

21 of 100. Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit is a monthly add-on to the Semrush SEO suite, priced per domain. Scored at 99 dollars a month on AI Visibility Toolkit, read on 28 September 2026 on Semrush's pricing page. Another domain is 99 dollars a month, another person 99 dollars, and 50 more tracked questions 60 dollars. Semrush asks one AI engine on AI Visibility Toolkit. Its free offer is None. Semrush prices a higher tier only after a call.

Each name opens a page of its own with that tool's whole plan list. The list of the best AI visibility tools scores the same tools for every kind of brand, and the list of cheap AI visibility tools ranks them on price alone.

Why most AI visibility tools without a subscription are not ranked here

Sixteen AI visibility tools are scored here, and the directory lists 257. A tool is scored when this site has a comparison page for it holding the whole plan list read off its own pricing page between 21 and 30 September 2026, and MentionChecker is scored on its own pricing page.

The other 241 are in the directory of AI visibility tools with what each one does, 55 of them with an entry price and the day it was read.

Which AI visibility tool without a subscription to pick

MentionChecker, for one check, a monthly check or a daily one. Run the free check first, then buy the pack that covers the checks you plan for the year.

MentionChecker is a pay-as-you-go AI visibility checker. It asks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot the questions people ask about what you do, and tells you whether your brand is mentioned in the answers.

The chart of past checks over time, with the brand standings under it
Checks on one chart, months apart or days apart, and what moved between them.

The guide to how to check ChatGPT visibility shows one AI engine end to end, and the AI visibility report page shows a whole report.

Questions people ask about AI visibility tools without a subscription

Is there a one-time payment AI visibility tool?

Yes. MentionChecker sells credit packs paid for once, from $9, that last 12 months and never renew. Each check spends one credit per question per AI engine, a month with no check costs nothing, and your first check is free with no card.

Is an annual AI visibility plan cheaper?

Per month, yes, and it ties you to twelve of them: seven of the fifteen subscription AI visibility tools in MentionChecker's 2026 ranking print a lower month price billed annually. A year of monthly MentionChecker checks of 25 questions on four AI engines is one $59 pack, bought once, with no annual contract and nothing owed for a month you skip.

Can I check AI visibility once without a plan?

Yes. A MentionChecker check is one run, paid from a pay-as-you-go balance, and nothing follows it unless you set a repeat. Your first check is free, with no card: 5 questions on ChatGPT and Gemini. After it the $9 pack runs eight questions on all six AI engines once, and the report stays in your account.

Is there a pay-as-you-go AI visibility tracker?

Yes. MentionChecker is paid as you go: you buy a credit pack once, from $9, and each check spends one credit per question per AI engine. A repeat runs daily, weekly or monthly from the same balance, nothing renews on a card, and credits last 12 months. Your first check is free with no card.

What happens to AI visibility tracking when my credits run out?

On MentionChecker, the run that is due does not happen, the repeat pauses and the account owner gets one email. It resumes on its own the next time credits are bought, and every check that already ran stays in History as it was.

Do AI visibility tools need a card for a free trial?

Some do: three of the fifteen subscription AI visibility tools in MentionChecker's 2026 ranking have a trial that takes a card or nothing free at all, and the list of the best free AI visibility tools dates each offer. Your first MentionChecker check is free with no card and no end date: 5 questions on ChatGPT and Gemini, with every answer, the brands mentioned and the websites cited.

Which AI engines can I check without a subscription?

All six on MentionChecker: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. Every pack covers every one of them, the $9 one included, and each AI engine a check asks costs one credit per question. Seven of the fifteen subscription AI visibility tools in MentionChecker's 2026 ranking ask three AI engines or fewer on their cheapest paid tier.

Can a team share an AI visibility tool without paying per seat?

Yes. A MentionChecker account invites people by email, each with a role, and everyone works from one balance with no fee per person or per brand. A viewer reads reports and History, an editor runs checks, and only the owner buys credits. Semrush's toolkit charges 99 dollars a month for another person, read on 28 September 2026 on Semrush's pricing page.

Is a subscription worth it for occasional AI visibility checks?

For checks a few times a year, a monthly plan bills every month in between. On MentionChecker those months cost nothing: credits bought once pay for the checks you run, last 12 months, and History compares each check with the one before however long the gap.

MentionCheckerKnow where you stand in AI search.
Run a free checkYour first check is free, no card. Then from $9, no subscription.

Every name in this ranking is a trademark of its owner. MentionChecker is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them, and no tool here pays for its place. Keep reading: the best AI visibility tools, cheap AI visibility tools ranked on price, the best free AI visibility tools, AI visibility tools for small business, the directory of AI visibility tools and the AI visibility report page.