Best of
Free AI visibility checker and tools for ChatGPT and Gemini
By Maya Ellison, content lead · Updated 3 October 2026
In short
MentionChecker is the best free AI visibility checker, scoring 95 of 100 in MentionChecker's ranking of sixteen tools. The first check is free, with no card and no end date: 5 questions on ChatGPT and Gemini. After it a pack is $9, bought once, and can ask ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot.
The best free AI visibility tools, scored out of 100
MentionChecker scores 95 of 100 as a free AI visibility tool, and the next is Promptwatch at 70. Tools on the same score are ordered by name.
| Tool | Score | Free with no end date (30) | What the free part shows (20) | AI engines asked free, with no end date (15) | The first paid step (20) | What the paid step commits you to (15) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MentionChecker | 95 / 100 | Your first check, no card, 30 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | Two, ChatGPT and Gemini, 10 of 15 | $9 a pack, 20 of 20 | Credits, bought once, 15 of 15 |
| Promptwatch | 70 / 100 | Explore, a free tier, 30 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | One, 5 of 15 | $95 on Essential, 10 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| AthenaHQ | 67 / 100 | Essential, a free tier, 30 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | Not stated, 10 of 15 | $295 on Starter, 2 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | 63 / 100 | The AI Visibility Checker, a preview, 30 of 30 | Scores or a preview from a name or a form, 8 of 20 | Not stated, 10 of 15 | £99 on Lite, the cheapest Ahrefs plan carrying Custom Prompts, 10 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| HubSpot AEO | 63 / 100 | The AI Search Grader, once, 30 of 30 | Scores or a preview from a name or a form, 8 of 20 | Not stated, 10 of 15 | $50 on HubSpot AEO on its own, 10 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| AskWatch | 62 / 100 | A check on its pricing page, 30 of 30 | A check on questions picked for you, 12 of 20 | Not stated, 10 of 15 | $100 on Monitor, 5 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Profound | 62 / 100 | The Trial, 10 questions run once, 30 of 30 | A check on questions picked for you, 12 of 20 | One, 5 of 15 | $99 on Agency Growth, 10 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Otterly | 52 / 100 | A 7-day trial, no card, 12 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | $29 on Lite, 15 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Writesonic | 47 / 100 | A 7-day trial, no card, 12 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | $99 on Starter, 10 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Peec AI | 43 / 100 | A trial, its length not stated, 8 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | €85 on Starter, 10 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Superlines | 43 / 100 | A 7-day trial, 8 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | €79 on Starter, 10 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Rankscale | 40 / 100 | A 7-day Pro trial with a card, 0 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | €20 on Essentials, 15 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Searchable | 38 / 100 | A 14-day trial, 8 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | $125 on Pro, 5 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Gauge | 35 / 100 | A one-week trial on Growth, 8 of 30 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | $599 on Growth, 2 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Semrush | 15 / 100 | None, 0 of 30 | Nothing free, 0 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | $99 on AI Visibility Toolkit, 10 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
| Scrunch AI | 7 / 100 | A 7-day trial with a card, 0 of 30 | Nothing free, 0 of 20 | None, 0 of 15 | $250 on Core, 2 of 20 | A monthly plan, 5 of 15 |
Prices and free offers as of 21 to 30 September 2026, each dated in its entry below.
How the free score is built
A free AI visibility tool earns its points on what the free part shows and what follows it. Thirty points go to something free with no end date. A trial that takes a card scores 0.
| Criterion | Weight | How the points are given |
|---|---|---|
| Free with no end date | 30 | A free check or a free tier with no end date, 30. A trial that asks for no card, 12. Any other trial, 8. A trial that asks for a card, or nothing free, 0 |
| What the free part shows | 20 | The product itself, on your own brand, 20. A check on questions picked for you, 12. Scores or a preview from a name or a form, 8. Nothing free, 0 |
| AI engines asked free, with no end date | 15 | All six AI engines, 15. Two to five, or a number its page does not state, 10. One, 5. None, because the free part is a trial or there is none, 0 |
| The first paid step, a pack or a month | 20 | Under 10, 20. 10 to 49, 15. 50 to 99, 10. 100 to 249, 5. 250 or more, 2 |
| What the paid step commits you to | 15 | Credits bought once, with no monthly plan, 15. A monthly plan, 5. Priced only after a call, 0 |
The AI engines column counts only what stays free, so a trial scores 0 there whatever its plan covers. The first paid step reads the cheapest tier with a price on the tool's own page, in the currency printed there.
Free check, free tier or free trial: what each free AI visibility tool gives
Three things get called free: a check run once, a standing free tier and a trial. Of the fifteen other tools here, four give a check run once, two keep a small tier free, six offer the paid plan as a trial, and three give nothing without a card.
| What is free | What it gives | Tools scored here |
|---|---|---|
| A check run once | One run, with no end date to use it by | MentionChecker, Ahrefs Brand Radar, HubSpot AEO, AskWatch and Profound |
| A standing free tier | A small allowance that stays free | Promptwatch and AthenaHQ |
| A trial | The paid plan for a few days | Otterly, Writesonic, Peec AI, Superlines, Searchable and Gauge |
| Nothing free | A trial that takes a card, or no trial at all | Rankscale, Semrush and Scrunch AI |
A trial starts at signup, and when it ends the account stops tracking unless a plan is paid for.
What is AI visibility, and what does a free AI visibility check measure?
AI visibility is how often AI engines mention your brand when people ask about what you do. A free AI visibility check puts those questions to ChatGPT and Gemini and counts the answers that mention you. It is counted per question and per AI engine, so a brand can be mentioned on Gemini and missing on ChatGPT for the same question. A mention is your brand's name appearing in an AI engine's answer, whether or not a link comes with it.
What should a free AI visibility checker show?
A free AI visibility checker should show the answers about your own brand, who is mentioned in your place and which websites are cited. A score from a form, or a preview built from a brand name, does not show the answers themselves.

The questions people type about what you do are drafted from your website, you change any of them, and the check asks them on ChatGPT and Gemini, so you can check your brand in ChatGPT and Gemini without an account.

The report opens on three numbers. Mentioned is the share of answers with your brand in them, share of voice is your mentions against every mention in the check, and average rank is your place in the answers that listed names in order.

The standings rank every brand the answers mentioned, your own row marked, so competitor mentions you had never heard of show up beside the ones you know. A citation is a website the answer gives as its source, and the free report lists every one.

Every free AI visibility tool in the ranking, one by one
Each tool below is listed with its score and what its own page says the free part gives, dated.
MentionChecker
95 of 100. The free check takes no card and has no end date, and it runs on your own website with questions you can edit, which takes the full weight of the first two criteria. A pack from $9, bought once, earns all of the last two. It loses 5 points on AI engines because the free check asks ChatGPT and Gemini, while a paid check can ask any of the six.
Promptwatch
70 of 100. Promptwatch, an AI search tracking subscription, has a free Explore plan that tracks a fixed set of questions on ChatGPT only, in one project with one seat, and its paid brand plans carry a seven-day trial, read on 29 September 2026 on Promptwatch's own facts page. The first paid tier is Essential at 95 dollars a month, read on 29 September 2026 on Promptwatch's pricing page.
AthenaHQ
67 of 100. AthenaHQ, a subscription AI visibility platform, has an Essential tier that is free and carries 25 dollars of credit, read on 28 September 2026 on AthenaHQ's plans page.
Ahrefs Brand Radar
63 of 100. Ahrefs Brand Radar, the AI visibility part of the Ahrefs SEO suite, has a free AI Visibility Checker that works from a brand name with no signup and gives what its own page calls a limited preview, read on 29 September 2026 on Ahrefs' free AI Visibility Checker page. The first paid tier is Lite, the cheapest Ahrefs plan carrying Custom Prompts at 99 pounds a month, read on 29 September 2026 on Ahrefs' Brand Radar page.
HubSpot AEO
63 of 100. HubSpot's AI search add-on has a free AI Search Grader that asks for a company name, a location, a product or service and an industry, never a web address or your own questions, and returns five scores out of 100, with the full report behind a second form, read on 28 September 2026 on HubSpot's AI Search Grader page. The first paid tier is HubSpot AEO on its own at 50 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on HubSpot's AEO product page.
AskWatch
62 of 100. AskWatch, a subscription AI visibility monitor, runs a check on its pricing page on a domain with no account, which names no questions of yours, and its fourteen-day trial on Monitor takes a card that is charged when the trial ends, read on 29 September 2026 on AskWatch's pricing page.
Profound
62 of 100. Profound, an AI visibility platform sold by subscription, has a free Trial that runs 10 questions its page picks for your industry, once, on ChatGPT only, with no history and no export, and the questions cannot be changed, read on 21 September 2026 on Profound's pricing page.
Otterly
52 of 100. Otterly, a subscription AI search monitoring tool, has no free plan, and its help centre offers a seven-day trial of 50 questions with no credit card, read on 28 September 2026 on Otterly's help centre on the trial. The first paid tier is Lite at 29 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on Otterly's pricing page.
Writesonic
47 of 100. Writesonic, an AI writing suite with a brand visibility add-on, has no free plan, and its brand plans carry seven days of trial with no card, read on 28 September 2026 on Writesonic's pricing page.
Peec AI
43 of 100. Peec AI, a subscription AI search analytics tool, has no free plan, and its pricing page carries a button that says Start free trial without saying how long the trial runs, read on 21 September 2026 on Peec AI's pricing page.
Superlines
43 of 100. Superlines, a subscription AI search tracking tool, has no package priced at zero, and every brand card carries a seven-day trial instead, read on 29 September 2026 on Superlines' pricing page.
Rankscale
40 of 100. Rankscale, a subscription AI rank tracking tool, has no free plan, and the one way in without paying is a seven-day trial of its Pro tier that is charged on day seven, read on 29 September 2026 on Rankscale's pricing page.
Searchable
38 of 100. Searchable, a subscription AI search visibility tool, has no free plan, and a fourteen-day trial on two of its brand plans and two of its agency plans is the only unpaid access, read on 29 September 2026 on Searchable's pricing page.
Gauge
35 of 100. Gauge, a subscription AI visibility tracker, has no plan priced at zero, and its Growth plan carries a one-week trial whose questions start running the same day, by its FAQ, read on 30 September 2026 on Gauge's pricing page.
Semrush
15 of 100. Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit, an add-on to the Semrush SEO suite, has no free trial, and its help centre says the button leads straight to a paid subscription, read on 28 September 2026 on Semrush's help centre on the toolkit. The first paid tier is AI Visibility Toolkit at 99 dollars a month, read on 28 September 2026 on Semrush's pricing page.
Scrunch AI
7 of 100. Scrunch AI, a subscription AI search tracking platform, has only a seven-day trial that takes a credit card and charges 250 dollars a month for Core when it ends unless it is cancelled, read on 28 September 2026 on Scrunch's page on the free trial.
Each name opens a page of its own with that tool's whole plan list, and the best AI visibility tools scores the same tools on their paid tiers.
What a free AI visibility tool costs after the free part
After the free check, a MentionChecker pack is $9, bought once, where every other tool here moves you onto a monthly plan. One question on one AI engine is one credit, and credits last 12 months.
| Credits | What that runs, for example | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 50 credits | eight questions on all six AI engines, once | $9 |
| 100 credits | 25 questions on four AI engines, once | $17 |
| 250 credits | 25 questions on five AI engines, twice, with what moved between them | $25 |
| 1,000 credits | 25 questions on four AI engines, ten times | $45 |
Among the fifteen others, the cheapest first paid step is 20 euros a month, read on 29 September 2026 on Rankscale's pricing page, and it is owed every month whether the dashboard is opened or not. Every pack is on the pricing page, and the pay as you go AI visibility tracker page explains the balance.

What to do after the check
After a free AI visibility check, start with the websites the answers cited, which the report lists most-cited first. A cited page that leaves your brand out is the place to be mentioned. Then run the same check again from a pack, and the report shows what moved since the last run.
Why most tools are not ranked here
A free AI visibility tool is ranked here when its own pages publish its whole plan list and its free offer, which is true of sixteen of the 257 tools in the directory of AI visibility tools.
The other 241 are listed in the directory with what each one does.
Which one to pick
MentionChecker: run the free check, then buy a pack when you want the next one. The report stays in your account. A pack from $9 can ask all six AI engines, and a repeat runs the same check daily, weekly or monthly from the balance, with no monthly plan.
MentionChecker is a pay-as-you-go AI visibility checker. It asks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot the questions people ask about what you do, and tells you whether your brand is mentioned in the answers.
The guide to how to check ChatGPT visibility shows one AI engine end to end, AI visibility tracking explains what a repeat adds, and the AI visibility report page shows a whole report. Your first check is free.
Questions people ask about free AI visibility tools
What is the best free AI visibility checker?
MentionChecker, at 95 of 100 in MentionChecker's ranking of sixteen free AI visibility tools, and no tool scored higher on any criterion. The first check is free with no card and no end date, and it runs on your own website with questions you can edit and every answer in full. After it a pack is $9, bought once, so the next check costs no monthly plan either.
Is there a free AI visibility tool?
Yes. Your first MentionChecker check is free, with no card: 5 questions about what you do on ChatGPT and Gemini, asked once, and the report keeps every answer. It has no end date, so it can be run whenever you are ready. After it a pack is $9, bought once, with credits that last 12 months.
How can I check my AI visibility for free?
Run a free MentionChecker check. Enter your website, and the questions people ask about what you do are drafted from it for you to edit. The check asks them on ChatGPT and Gemini, and the report opens when the answers are in. No card is asked for, and nothing is charged until you buy a pack, from $9, bought once.
Do free AI visibility tools need a credit card?
Some do. A trial that asks for a card turns into a paid plan unless it is cancelled, which is why this ranking scores it as nothing free. The free MentionChecker check asks for no card at all, and nothing is charged until you buy a pack, from $9, bought once, with credits that last 12 months.
Do AI visibility tools have a free trial?
Some do, but a trial is the paid plan for a few days, and then it is charged, while a free check or a free tier has no end date. Of the tools in this ranking, six have a trial as their only free way in, and only two of those ask for no card. A free MentionChecker check has no end date.
Which AI engines does a free AI visibility check ask?
The free MentionChecker check asks ChatGPT and Gemini, and a paid check can ask any of the six: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. No tool in this ranking gives all six free with no end date. One question on one AI engine is one credit once you buy a pack.
Is there a free ChatGPT visibility checker?
Yes. The free MentionChecker check asks ChatGPT and Gemini 5 questions about what you do, drafted from your website and editable, with no card and no end date. The report shows every ChatGPT answer in full, whether your brand is mentioned, who is mentioned in your place and which websites ChatGPT cited. After it a pack from $9, bought once, can ask all six AI engines.
Is there a free Gemini visibility checker?
Yes. The free MentionChecker check asks Gemini and ChatGPT 5 questions about what you do, with no card and no end date, and the report shows each Gemini answer in full with the brands it mentions and the websites it cites. A pack from $9, bought once, adds Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot.
Are free AI visibility checkers accurate?
A free check is a first reading. 5 questions on two AI engines show whether your brand is mentioned at all, and answers change from run to run. A paid MentionChecker check with 25 questions on all six AI engines gives a steadier number, and running it again shows what moved.
Can a free AI visibility tool track competitors?
Yes. The free MentionChecker check lists every brand the answers mentioned in its standings, with your own row marked, without you naming any competitor first, so ones you had not thought of appear too. Each name opens the answers it came from. To watch them move, run the same check again from a pack, or set a repeat, which runs it daily, weekly or monthly from your balance.
How much does an AI visibility tool cost?
A MentionChecker pack from $9 for 50 credits, bought once, and one question on one AI engine is one credit. Credits last 12 months, so a month with no check costs nothing. A repeat runs the same check daily, weekly or monthly, each run paid from the balance, with no monthly plan.
How often should I check my AI visibility?
After the free check, run it again whenever something you control changes, such as a new page, a launch or news about you, or set a MentionChecker repeat daily, weekly or monthly. Each run is paid from the balance at one credit per question per AI engine, and the report shows what moved since the last run, so a quiet month costs nothing.
Every name in this ranking is a trademark of its owner. MentionChecker is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them, and no tool here pays for its place. Keep reading: the best AI visibility tools, cheap AI visibility tools ranked on price, the directory of AI visibility tools and the AI visibility report page.